Want to learn something new? Join one of these evening Community Education classes at College of the Ouachitas! For more information or to register, call 501-332-0210 or 501-337-5000 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Most classes are held on Monday, Tuesday or Thursday nights. Click here to register for a class.
Sign up now to get early discount price.
CPR Class - Thursday, December 18th from 1-4 p.m. in Ballard Board Room. Cost is $25.00. Click here to register for this class.
ACT TEST PREP - Classes offered in Spring 2015. TBA. Test dates are February 7, April 18th and June 13th. Classes are usually taught on Tuesday nights from 6 – 9 p.m. for five weeks right before the test date. Need 10 students for class to make. Cost is $125.
Ballroom Dancing - Last East Coast Swing/Jitterbug class lesson will be Tuesday, November 18th. More dance lessons after the first of the year, TBA. Cost is $20 per person. Dancing instructor is Tony Gunn from Hot Springs. Click here for registration, waiver and payment information.
Yoga Love Classes – new session starts Monday, November 17th, 24th, December 1st and 8th. Next session will be in January 2015, TBA. Cost is $20. Monday nights in Great Room 6 - 7 p.m. Certified Instructor - Kasey Spence. Four weeks, $20. YOGA LOVE is a gentle stress reducing beginner class.
Ukrainian Easter Egg – March 10th, 6 – 8:30 p.m. taught by Dr. Stephen Schoonmaker. Cost is $20, Room B106 in Science Building.
Welding Basics – 12 hours total – meets on Tuesday and Thursday nights 6 – 8 p.m. Three weeks total. Taught by Chris Stovall, cost is $150 and includes supplies, torch and set up.
Conversational Spanish - $80 Tuesday and Thursday nights 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m for four weeks.
Basic Cake Decorating – class will start on Thursday, August 14th from 6:30 p.m - 8:30 p.m. in Room B-106. Cost is $40 per person. Instructor Adriana Tapia-Saling. Students will also need a Wilton’s Decorating Basics Kit-Student Kit. The minimum age to take the class is 12 years of age.
Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License Class - 7 a.m. – 5 p.m. Includes range, paperwork and travel time. For more information contact: Jody Callahan 501-332-0253. Bring lunch, drinks will be provided. Taught by Arkansas certified instructors Glenn Franklin (Instructor License# 14-1033) and Jody Callahan (Instructor License # 14-1000). Cost is $85 per person/$150 for couple. The cost for the class does not include the additional $147.25 (new license age 64 and younger) fee required by and payable to the Arkansas State Police for registration and background check. Fingerprint cards will be provided and instructors will assist with the paperwork during class time. No guns or ammo in the classroom. If needed, you may use a loaner gun and ammo for a rental fee of $10.00.
The following classes are one hour weekly for 4 weeks each, with all materials provided:
Oil Painting - $60
Jewelry Making - $150
Papermaking - $40
Creative Writing - $25
Art and Writing
Online Ed-2-Go Program - we offer a wide range of highly interactive courses that you can take entirely over the Internet. Speed Spanish, Keyboarding, Grammar Refresher and more. Go to: http://www.ed2go.com/otcweb/ for more information.
Take a four week course for $85! (Prices Vary)
Some of the most popular courses:
• Intro to Microsoft Excel 2010
• Speed Spanish
• Creating Web Pages
• SAT/ACT Prep
• GRE Prep
• Become a Veterinary Assistant
• Writing for Children
• Writing Effective Grant Proposals
• Grammar Refresher
You may register for any of the Community Ed classes online at library.coto.edu under Community Education link or call 501-337-5000 or 501-332-0210 for more information.