Campus News

  • The Arkansas Department of Higher Education has announced a new scholarship promoting the education of Arkansas’ workforce. Click here for more information.

  • The Financial Aid Office will be closed Friday, May 5 from 8 am - 1:00 pm for employee training.

  • Student Government Association Officer elections for the 2017-2018 school year were held recently.  Below are the results:

    President                  Katlin McClenahan
    Vice President          Chase Bell
    Secretary                  Corey Stiles
    Treasurer                  Jake Malone
    Public Relations       Christian Harvey
    Parliamentarian        Kentrell Weaver

    Congratulations to these COTO students selected to represent the student body!

  • The Financial Aid Office will be closed this Friday, April 21st from 8 am - 1:00 pm for employee training.

  • COTO congratulates the winners of our 2017 Academic Showcase!  Great work, all. 

    Judges' Award Winner:  Eric Gaither
    Viewers' Choice:  Nicole Reynolds and Amy Caddy
    Best Visual Display:  Lynn Green
    Best Real-Time Presentation:  Parker Hope
    SAU Prize for Technology:  Eric Gaither

    Prizes will be awarded during the annual COTO Awards Ceremony, on May 5.

  • The Financial Aid Office will be closed this Friday, April 7th from 8 am - 1:00 pm for employee training.

  • Subject: IRS and Department of Education Statement‎ About the IRS Data Retrieval Tool (DRT)

    The IRS Data Retrieval Tool on and is currently unavailable. We are working to resolve the issue as quickly as possible. However, at this time, the IRS anticipates the online data tool will be unavailable for several weeks.

    This does not limit families’ ability to apply for aid. Applicants have other options while the data tool is unavailable. Applicants filling out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) or applying for an income-driven repayment (IDR) plan can manually provide the requested financial information from copies of their tax returns. The online FAFSA and IDR application remain operational, and applicants can continue filing the FAFSA or applying for an IDR plan as they normally would.

    As part of a wider, ongoing effort at the IRS to protect the security of data, the IRS decided to temporarily suspend the Data Retrieval Tool (DRT) as a precautionary step following concerns that information from the tool could potentially be misused by identity thieves. The scope of the issue is being explored, and the IRS and FSA are jointly investigating the issue. At this point, we believe the issue is relatively isolated, and no additional action is needed by taxpayers or people using these applications. The IRS and FSA are actively working on a way to further strengthen the security of information provided by the DRT. We will provide additional information when we have a specific timeframe for returning the DRT or other details to share.

  • College of the Ouachitas recently announced the President’s and Dean’s Lists for the Fall 2016 semester.  Students on the President’s List have earned 12 or more credit hours in college level courses and achieved a 4.0 grade point average for the semester.  Those named to the President’s List include Hot Spring County residents: Ashley Clark, Samuel Donoho, Whitney Edwards, Kelsey Elrod, Eric Gaither, LaHannah Harp, Gary Loughren, Sheena Loy, Jerrilyn Moreno, Jessica Robertson, and Seth Williams; Clark County residents: Billy Adams and KiaQuana Jones; Grant County residents: Samantha Hankins, Emily Jordan, Kayla Reed, and Allison White; Saline County residents: Michelle Barrett, Timothy Haynes, and Samantha Patterson; Garland County residents: Guadalupe Cruz and Clint Turner; and Jefferson County resident: Dana Smith.

    Students named to the Dean’s List have earned 12 or more credit hours in college level courses and achieved a 3.50 grade point average for the semester.  Those named to the Dean’s List include Hot Spring County residents: Aaron Brown, Amy Caddy, Leann Carroll, Miles Donoho, Shelby Fugate, Kimberly Henderson, Lloyd Howerton, Sara Johnson, Jace Keeney, Payton Kehner, Clarence Kellogg, Jared McCarver, Kayla Overton, Austin Owens, Madison Paine, Alana Parish, Nicole Reynolds, Robert Rimmer, Stephen Rogers, Shayla Warner, and Scott Whitehead; Clark County residents: Tia Gulley, Brianna Porchia, and Shaquita Webster; Grant County residents: Collin Boatright, Alyx Bohannon, Bryanna Burks, Emily Funderburg, Brandyn Gilbert, Brookelynn Holysz, Parker Hope, Emily Monroe, and Marvin Simmons; Saline County residents: Bryan Chaney, William Jackson, and Raegan Norris; Garland County residents: Shaunasty Clark and Johnathan Nkameni; Calhoun County resident: Robert Aulds; Dallas County resident: Yessenia Gonzalez; and Ouachita County resident: Ashley Mello. 


  • College of the Ouachitas wants to welcome you to Spring classes for 2017. We want to remind you that either a payment or your financial aid needs to be completed and showing on your account before January 18, 2017. If you have made a payment plan, we still need a payment on your account by this date. Otherwise, you risk the chance of losing your classes. Classes start Tuesday, January 17, 2017.

    The Business Office offers a payment plan. Payments are divided into three payments for spring classes. We charge a $35 finance fee (non-refundable) for this service. You may also make payments online through your self-service account. Be sure to review your self-service account to verify all payments have been applied and all charges are correct. Contact the Business Office at 501.332.0237 to make payment arrangements or if you have questions regarding your student account.

  • Due to the unanticipated band of snow that should move into our area around 12:00, College of the Ouachitas will close TODAY (1/6) AT 11:00 AM to allow our employees to get home ahead of this band.  Stay safe and stay warm!